More Trivia

What is the name of the capitol of Liechtenstein?

Vaduz is the capitol of this European microstate.

Which country is bordered by the most countries?

China and Russia have the most neighboring countries with 14 neighbors each.

What is the smallest, sovereign microstate in the world?

Holy See, which includes the Vatican.

Which country has the most time zones in the world?

Russia, which has 11 time zones!

Which country does not have contiguous land space?

Russia … Kaliningrad is separated by Lithuania west of Russia.

To which continent does Turkey belong?

Turkey, by land mass, is positioned 95 percent in Asia (Anatolia) and 5 percent in Europe (Thrace). The minority is in the Balkan Peninsula in southeast Europe.

Which country in Africa was never colonized?

Ethiopia, despite Italy's occupation from 1936–1941 because that did not result in a lasting colonial administration.

Which continent is the oldest?

Australia based on fossils dating back millions of years.

Which five continental land masses are represented in the Olympic rings?

The interlocking rings represent the five continents present at the 1912 Games: Africa, the Americas, Oceania, Asia and Europe.

To which continent does Greenland belong?

Greenland – an autonomous country within the Kingdom of Denmark – is geographically a part of North America, but it has been politically and culturally associated with Europe for about a millennium.

Denmark is about 50 times smaller than Greenland with only 2 percent of its land space (43,000 vs. 2 million km2). However, Greenland has 1 percent of Denmark’s population (58,000 vs. 5.9 million).